Connecting the dots....(Extremely long)

Old 04-12-2006, 06:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Connecting the dots....(Extremely long)

I've been connecting alot of dots lately as to where I believe my codependant tendencies came into play. I, by no means, am saying that I'm a qualified professional to diagnose myself - lol - but I've really been doing a lot of thinking and sorting, and getting really honest with myself. And I believe that I've come up with a lot of answers - answers that really make sense to me.

A couple of years ago, I was having an intense conversation with someone. (Okay, I was upset) and while I don't really recall the conversation as a whole, I do recall yelling "I'm always by myself!!!". After that conversation, I sat stunned. I called my best friend and told her about the conversation as I realized that the words I'd yelled out in pain and anger were the truth. I have spent ALOT of time alone my entire life!!! I think that was the beginning of something - the beginning of really looking at my life and whatnot.

I was thinking about this again last night. Remembering just how alone I was - how alone I felt - as well as just how much time I spent by myself. And I realized that it was having been so alone physically as well as feeling so alone mentally - that probably allowed me to accept the countless nights that ah was not home. I didn't like that he wasn't home - I mentioned it to him and told him how I felt - but it was something that I was used too. I hadn't liked it as a child - I didn't like it as an adult - but while I didn't like it - it was normal to me. So I think I accepted it more readily than if I'd not had so much time alone when I was growing up.

Another thing about having spent so much time alone is that there is so much more to it.