Needing advice

Old 04-09-2006, 11:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Needing advice

Does anyone ever have to deal with alcohol and/or drug abuse from a loved one, and then have to deal with it within your job?

I work as a case manager/social work for elderly and disabled people. I have a patient right now who is in his 50's living at an Assisted Living Home. He is an alcoholic and his drinking has caused problems where he is staying.His drinking has gotten to the point that the owner of the home is planning on telling him that if he doesn't agree to inpatient treatment he will have to leave.

I have met with him many times and tried to discuss this with him, but he is either in denial or just doesn't want to admit it to me. I have set-up/authorized various outpatient services (that is part of my job) which hasn't worked. I get calls from the home almost weekly from staff about his drinking and behaviors. They call me thinking or feeling that I should be able to "take care" of it. I try to tell them again and again that all I can do is offer the help and services, I cannot make him stop nor can I force him to stop.

The owner of this home wants me to meet with her and this patient to tell him this is it- he gets inpatient treatment or moves out. (And of course if he does move out, part of my job is also helping find him somewhere to go).

Every time I see this patient, all I can see is my dad. That will be my dad in a few years (if he survives that long) if he continues on the path he is on right now. And there is nothing I can do about it. Dealing with this patient right now is really really tough. It brings back so much, so much pain and sadness, and I hate that it affects my job that way. Just thinking about this meeting this week is bringing up alot of anxiety and I feel like crying. Some professional I am.

Does anyone else ever deal with anything simular? How do I deal with it, cope with it? How do you keep your sanity but still do a good job?