Reallyl frustrated!!

Old 12-22-2005, 06:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Reallyl frustrated!!

I just feel overwhelmed again. AH is going thru some changes on his meds for bipolar and the manic symptoms are showing through. It's hard to deal with the changing moods and the manic moods make him want to drink, etc . Went with him to the psychiatrist today to talk more about the meds. I just don't want to be going thru this again. It makes me feel crazy. I don't want the drinking to start all over again either.

Sometimes I feel like i just don't have anything left in reserves. I feel like I am going to lose my mind. I work full time as a nurse and I have a 19 month old little boy. So constantly needed. I just keep praying to the Lord to give me strength to get thru all this.

Thanks, guys for listening to me. Means a lot.
Old 12-22-2005, 07:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
How Important Is It?

I know the feeling.

Dealing with the alcoholism is bad enough, but when mental illness is there also, it makes it so much harder. I had to sign my alcoholic daughter into the psych ward this summer when she started having manic and psychotic episodes. They diagonosed her with Borderline Personality Disorder. It was so scary and frightening. I didn't know how to handle it.

You also have a small child, which adds to your responsibilities.

I found that I very much needed the additional help of a counsellor (in addition to the 3 Al-anon meetings I attend every week). The "one on one" time with the counsellor every three weeks was very helpful when my stress levels were going through the roof.

What can you do to take care of yourself right now? Any small things you can do to get away, relax, etc.. will be helpful to your mental health.

I hope you have a happy and restful Xmas with your husband and son.

Robin
Old 12-23-2005, 02:21 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Okay - here goes! Rant alert!