Preparing to fight and to keep my peace.

Old 10-14-2005, 03:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post Preparing to fight and to keep my peace.

This is long but please read if you have time - I had a hunch I would one day be here and now I am, I could use some support.
Part of me is trying to boost my own confidence, I advocate for a living and always thought I gave the care of family and fought as I would for my own. To the best of my ability I did but the feelings this close to home are different, they make me more fearful when what I really need is confidence, caution and clarity.

Checks.
D wants the help his doctor first suggested, that was my first check - what did he want to do, did he want to fight when now we have at least some help, less qualified but some. He does still want the psychiatric referal.

To check my research, I've rang MIND, the Patients Advice and Liason Service and will ring the advocacy service. Mind put me on to another charity, it was the first time I've seen their website but they are big and reputable (Rethink - national uk mental health charity similar to MIND). This is some of what they have to say about Dual Diagnosis:
Thirty-seven percent of alcohol abusers and 53% of drug misusers also have at least one serious mental illness.
It can be difficult to tell which problem came first. Often the psychiatric problem develops first and in an attempt to feel calmer, more alive, or more cheerful, a person with psychiatric symptoms may drink or use drugs. Doctors call this "self-medication". Frequent self-medication may eventually lead to physical and psychological dependency on alcohol or drugs. If this does, the person then suffers from not just one problem, but two.