Am I Controlling or Realistic?

Old 08-06-2005, 07:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Holding The Father's Hand

Am I Controlling or Realistic?

I ask that you pull no punches in your responses. I'm new to recovery and have never been to a face to face Al-Anon meeting only online ones and reading literature on my own.

First, a bit of background. My AH got his first DUII in March. I called the police on him because he had already had two pints of Vodka and was beligerant as he drove out of our driveway on a Saturday afternoon. I was scared for him and for the neighborhood children. Part of him still blames me for this. His license was suspended. I began kicking him out of the house whenever he got mean and beligerant in May. Thus, the second DUII. I kicked him out one night, and he got picked up for Driving while suspended and DUII. They impounded his car.

He called his parents, and they agreed to get the car out of impound if he sold it and used the money to pay him back. We sold the car and got $3000 for it. After paying his parents, the rest of the money was suppose to pay for his fines and for his bankruptcy for bills that were his from his first marriage.

He has been sober for two weeks tomorrow. On his last binge, he disappeared for three days (which he has never done before). He woke up from his blackout somewhere in the woods with an angry dog attacking him. In the process, he lost $500 in cash. Some of it paid for his binge, while the rest he left up in the woods somewhere.

He has been going to AA for a couple of months, and now thinks everything between us should be hunky dory, and I should completely trust him..yadda yadda yadda.

The first DUII, he pleaded guilty to. The second, he has asked for a jury trial, but in my opinion, he will be found guilty as well.