I'm new

Old 11-09-2002, 05:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

I'm new

I am new to all this and having a hard time. I am trying to work up the nerve to go to an Al-Anon meeting here locally but my schedule is hectic and I guess to be completely honest I am nervous, scared, and don't know 'wheretostart'. I thought this may be a good place to start, so here I am.

I have been with my husband for 6 years and he was completely sober for 91/2 years, about 2 years ago he started drinking occasionally and then started smoking pot. To make a long story short, 2 days ago I had to drop him off at a rehab center, and I guess while I know that he really needs this, I am angry. I feel like he has abandoned me and our three year old daughter. We have never been apart before this and I am really having a hard time with it. I don't know what to do to help and I feel overwhelmed. I work third shift, am currently working 6 days a week, and he come home one day and tells me he is going into rehab the next day, leaving me to work my hectic schedule while trying to care for our three year old, 2 dogs, a cat, 2 hamsters, a dozen fish, and do all the household chores. I guess I should mention that he was not working and was my only means of babysitting.

I want him to get sober and clean again, and I want to help but have no idea what to do. And how can I help if I am so angry?
Old 11-09-2002, 05:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

Welcome,

Your thoughts about Alanon are right on. And I know that anyhting new makes us nrevous, but if you can muster the courage the first time I am sure you will not regret it. Also I bet they will have some family sessions at the facilty where he is.

You have been living with a sober and now active alcoholic for some time and you are bound to be affected. Alanon teaches ways to have a peaceful heart in the midst of a storm.