SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   The daily drinker (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/59593-daily-drinker.html)

GermanShepherd 05-19-2005 10:09 PM

The daily drinker

I'm a newbie, but have been reading lots of posts and am wondering if any of the following is familiar. I have read lots about people's A's who go out drinking, or binge for three days, but I haven't seen anyone comment on a story similar to mine (I am sure others have been through this, I just haven't seen thier post) My fiance has reached a point where she is drinking everyday. We've been living together for a year as we planned our wedding and so she could go to school full time to finish getting her BS. Up until about six months ago, she rarely drank more than a social drink out with friends, but she has graduated to drinking everyday to varying levels of intoxication. (Her Mom has recently told me that she has had this issue before, but seemed to get things under control when we started dating) She does the bulk of her drinking at home, because she doesn't like to frequent bars or other hang outs. Since she is in school and only works part time, I leave in the morning before she does and I get home after she's already been home for several hours, leaving her time to drink as much as she wants. That's not to say that I follow her around checking to see what sh'e doing the whole time, but she hides her drinking from me and denies it if I should even suggest "she's not herself". At any rate, I have given up looking for the hidden shots of Vodka, or the bottles, because knowing where it is does not stop her from drinking. I am so tired of coming home after a frustrating day of work to find her barely able to stand up at 5:00 in the