Legal Aid/Small Claims Court

Old 04-02-2005, 02:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Acting not reacting

Legal Aid/Small Claims Court

I have a question...so I am fighting with the hotel that allowed my ex to use my credit card. Well. I spoke to our familys attorney who is on retainer and always helps me out at no cost. He is in trial and unable to get to it for a couple weeks. That is not an option for me...I need the money. They charged 600.00 almost, and as a result, my car payment, car insurance, credit card bill, and cell phone bill bounced creating $233 of overdraft charges and $100.00 of vendor NSF charges.
Ok, my question...does anyone know if I need to have an attorney to take this hotel chain to court? The hotel GM will not call me back and I am starting to sweat this. I work in finance, for a credit card and life insurance company and have never seen anything like this! Thanks guys
Old 04-02-2005, 02:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Finding Strength

Personally, If the hotel is local, I would go there and ask to speak to the manager IN PERSON.....I wouldnt leave until someone helped me...... but remember always kill them with kindness.........It's there fault...ask to speak to the managers manager.... if all else fails threaten legal action and leave your name and number...
Good Luck
M
Old 04-02-2005, 02:46 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

$600 would probably qualify for small claims court. Call your courthouse on Monday. But I am betting it is still going to take time.

Perhaps your no cost lawyer could draft a strongly worded letter...

Hugs,
JT
Old 04-02-2005, 02:47 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

no attorney needed for small claims.

But, you can also protest it with the cc company and have that charge "set aside" while it's disputed. If it's a debit card, if you notify the police and give bank the report # the bank will often refund your money and then THEY will become the injured party.