hi, im new at this..

Old 03-11-2005, 04:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
pinky

hi, im new at this..

Hello everyone. I have spent the past few hours searching the net, trying to find a support group for families of alcoholics. I came across this and have read through several of your posts. For the first time in weeks I have just sobbed my heart out. Because your "stories" are such an image of my own and i know I have found others with the same mixed emotions as my own. I can finally relate to someone and have someone understand my feelings. So I hope I can "join in" with you all and offer and hopefully receive support.
I am new to this message posting and am not really sure how to go about things. Do you usually start by introducing yourself and explaining your situation.....cos I could do with offloading my problems! Or is it a more gradual thing? If someone could let me know I would really appreciate it. Thanks
Old 03-11-2005, 05:03 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome and jump right on in with both feet!

Jenny
Old 03-11-2005, 05:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Caring for the 3 little bears

Feel free to share whatever you are comfortable with.
Once you share your story, you will find others in similar situation and they will respond... with kids, without kids, spouse is the addict, child is the addict, etc.
The other thing you can do is read the "sticky" notes that appear at the top of this page. Read about codependcy, enabling, etc.

Eventually you will develop relationships with people who understand and don't judge you.

We try to share our experiences. One person may "get" something from a particular part of a post, another person may "get" something else from the same post, and some may not get anything. But if you stay connected, I think you will find some support. As we are all in different, yet similar situations, and as you know, life with an addict can change our feelings every minute.