Moral Dilemma

Old 01-31-2005, 11:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Moral Dilemma

Are we our brother's keeper? And are the hottest places in hell reserved for those who when faced with a great moral crisis do nothing?

I know my ABF drinks and drives. Some nights he is too drunk to walk up the stairs, yet he drove himself home! It kills me to know that. I feel that he puts not only himself in danger but every other person out there on the road. Having that knowlege leaves me feeling as if I am a co-conspirator. It's not my car and in those cases I have no knowledge in advance, yet I am always eaten up with guilt.

I honestly do not know where he drinks. But I do know when he comes home wanting to start some drama and I stick to my guns i.e. "I will not allow you to speak to me that way" and then remove myself from the room, he often storms off, in his car. He is often drunk enough to slur his words and have difficulty walking...he's clearly over the .08 mark. Guilt is at it highest level then. Should I pick up the phone and report him?

My reaction is I should. Should I say he just left on this street, going this way, driving this car with this plate # and he is way drunk or ???????????

Seriously, how do you handle this?
Old 02-01-2005, 06:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I feel the same way, mine does the same thing.

And are the hottest places in hell reserved for those who when faced with a great moral crisis do nothing?
Oh let's hope not!!!

There is a thread on this somewhere awhile back. I have no idea where, someone here will probably know.
Old 02-01-2005, 06:23 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

You say ,my reaction is i should.You know best.Trust in what you know to do.You could be saving others lives as well as his too.Here we are enouraged to take the keys away,from them, before they go driving.Ever try to take keys from a drunk?If you have then you know that sometimes one can do this,and at other times one cant,no matter how they try.
Old 02-01-2005, 07:59 AM