Looking for a Rainbow in the Rain

Old 04-07-2021, 10:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Looking for a Rainbow in the Rain

Hello everyone. I am new to SR and posting today to ask-- Does anyone have a story of positive recovery with an alcoholic husband? I feel like I'm looking for a rainbow or some other redeeming factor of this struggle. Maybe in my case that doesn't exist, but I want to believe that there's still hope.

My story- my husband of 8 years (together for 10) recently left me and our 5 yr old son because he didn't like feeling restrained in his alcohol use and felt that it was me that had a problem with alcohol and that he, as a functioning alcoholic, was fine as long as he held down a job and wasn't drunk for more than a day at a time. He began struggling with alcohol abuse about 3 yrs into our marriage (though has family history of alcohol abuse) and had a very serious car accident resulting in a shattered knee cap, months of physical therapy and of course, promises to never drink again. That was short lived and over the years, he became more and more dependent on it. Any attempts from me to get him to stop were useless ( I understand now why from Al Anon).