Mom of adult son in rehab

Old 11-14-2020, 06:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Mom of adult son in rehab

I’m new here. My 24 year old son is in rehab for the first time for alcohol and depression. We haven’t had our first family counseling session and I have so many questions about comes next after rehab, what my role is and how to help without enabling. On the phone he sounds like he is really taking this seriously but he is a master of saying all the right things and I’m having trouble be optimistic or trusting.
Old 11-14-2020, 08:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

DMc----I have had some experience with this, so I am going to give you some advice that I learned the hard way.
He is still relatively young, so I think it is important to do the right things from the beginning---and those may be the hardest things---not, necessarily what he wants.

1. Get professional help for you and his father--if his father is in the picture. I suggest that you try to find a person who is also a long recovering alcoholic---like more than 5yrs. (at minimum). This could be a certified alcoholism counselor that is in long time recovery. And, there are psychologists and social workers who are long recovering alcoholics. You might call your local AA organization and ask whoever answers the phone if they can recommend some professionals that they may be familiar with. This is because long recovering alcoholics recognize all of the bs and the pitfalls.
Did you know that you can go as an observer to what are called "Open AA meetings" ? Those are the speaker meetings. I think you would learn a lot. (you can go without him).

2. Depression often goes along with alcoholism---and he will need to be followed by a psychiatrist and therapist in addition to a program of abstainence---like AA.