Alcoholic Girlfriend Left Me

Old 10-27-2020, 07:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic Girlfriend Left Me

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I'm having a hard time right now. I reached out to people around me that I love, but I feel as though I'd benefit from the opinion of someone else who had to deal with alcoholism in one form or another.

I've been dating this wonderful girl for nearly 4 years. The love of my life. She had a traumatic childhood, and it echoed throughout her life. It did not take much time for me to notice how often and how much she drank. She was 19 when we started dating. She was never violent when drunk, but she'd spiral into a very dark place at the end of the night, often having panic attacks and saying things that had me scared for her life.

She knows I have an alcoholic mother, and how important it is for me not to have my (future) kids go through that kind of thing. She promised me that she'd change. She did not, at first. I stayed by her side, because I love her. At some point, I thought that being there but not consoling her or comforting her after a night of heavy drinking would help me to not enable her drinking. I did what I thought would work. God, I did everything I could... as clumsy as I was.

She had this pattern... when something really bad would happen (which did happen twice in our relationship, both times being very bad news concerning certain scumbags in her family) she'd start acting strange. She'd drink way more, act out of character, seem absent, fill her days with chores and projects to a point that was exhausting...