New member - Trust

Old 07-04-2020, 06:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New member - Trust

Happy 4th of July to all
This is my first post and I am so happy to have found this group.

So, my question to the group is - how do I manage my insecurities with trusting my newly in recovery loved one??
I am trying my best to "stay in my lane" and support without enabling him. However, I feel I am constantly worried about what will happen next or what is real. What can I trust is really honest....
Ever since he made the choice to seek help, I have been less angry about what I've been through - watching him self destruct, realizing the lies about drinking etc. I know these behaviors were the disease in action, but it's still hard to just be positive in the now. The "what ifs" and "how is he really feeling today" moments are consuming to me.

My fiance is on his 4th day home from a 7-day detox program at a Recovery Center. I think it's going well so far, although it's my first time supporting a loved one in recovery. I won't go into the details of how he ended up there, but I will say that it was completely his own choice after reaching crisis status and admitting to having hit rock bottom/having a wake up call/wanting to save his life and make it better. He sought out the program on his own and asked to be dropped off at the facility.

He is now part of an Intensive Outpatient Program (IOP). He meets with a recovery group 3 times per week, for 3 hours a night - virtually at this time due to Covid-19 of course. He has a recovery therapist who runs those group sessions and he also meets individually once per week. He has committed to also attend an AA meeting (virtually as of now) on the days he does not have the IOP meetings. It's only been 4 days, but he has done the work so far each day. He has also been reading his Big Book for AA each day.