Lost and hopeless

Old 04-27-2020, 10:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lost and hopeless

I’m feeling lost and hopeless right now. My AB and I just broke up yesterday I want to say it was a mutual decision but it was more his decision to end the relationship even though we both still love each other. He realized that he’s not capable of handling a relationship while he’s recovering. For the past 3 months it’s been hell for the both of us. My AB would binge drink for a week then alcohol withdrawals would be so bad he would go to the ER multiple times to treat his dehydration, shakes and even seizures. This happened 6 or more times repeating the same cycle over and over again. I felt so helpless even though I work in the medical field who deals with alcoholic patients but it’s not the same when you’re the significant other of that AH. I even tried to admit him in a detox program in a behavioral center but days after he got discharged he started binge drinking again. I thought I was doing the right thing of helping him and supporting him because I love him. Then I realized there is nothing I could do to help him and it would be up to him to take control of his sobriety. I was willing to stay with him during his recovery but he made up his mind that he doesn’t want me around anymore. It hurts so much after all the pain and sacrifices I’ve been through to keep the relationship and it just ends. I know I’m still in the grieving phase that’s why I‘m glad I joined this forum to get some support and knowing I’m not alone.
Old 04-28-2020, 12:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Re: Lost and hopeless

Hi CJ, I know it's hard now, especially with the virus causing disruption and anxiety on top of heartbreak. I'm sure you understand that this is for the best although it might not seem like it.