Worried about my friend

Old 08-26-2019, 01:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Worried about my friend

A good friend and coworker who had been sober for a very long time, years, just started drinking again about a month ago. She’s in crisis right now, going through a separation and working a high pressure job. I have been texting with her and talking and checking in almost every day. Yesterday I became the most worried about her because her energy was so dark and she has told me she doesn’t know what to do about her drinking right now. I woke up this morning and told her I’m worried. I told her I’m concerned that some of the friends she’s spending time with are toxic people I’ve had some bad experiences with. I know she is vulnerable right now and I don’t like to see their apathy about her drinking and that they have so much of her trust right now. I also told her I know it’s not my right to tell her who to get positive feedback from right now because I know she really needs people. But that I’m worried nonetheless.
she told me I scared her and that she was on her way to work. She is trying so hard right now to just keep it together. I’m so worried I might have triggered her badly today before work and that she will feel like I am judging her.
I have referred her to this site and to meetings, because I KNOW I’m not qualified to truly help. But watching someone just hand her a drink last night really upset me. And I’m not the kind of friend who just backs away instead of saying something. These people have been the source of so much toxicity for me and many others that I know and I hate watching her go into the fold. I know her choices are hers and not mine or theirs. I feel like I’ve done something horribly wrong.
Old 08-26-2019, 01:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)