ISO help for son/punk/rocker/musician

Old 08-21-2019, 01:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

ISO help for son/punk/rocker/musician

I have a 27 yr old son who has alcoholism in his family history on both sides. He is a true punk/rocknroller, if you know what that really means. His drinking, anxiety, pain from the past and now cocaine use is taking him under. He's not wanting a spiritual treatment and ONLY admits he has a problem when he's in deep **** with me as he lives with me. We don't have insurance. I am looking for likeminded for him to connect with and heal. HELP!
Old 08-21-2019, 01:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Tracette
you posted in our Forum Troubleshooting Forum so I moved your post here.

I know you'd do anythign to get your son free of addiction but its very difficult to get someone help when they don't think they have a problem most of the time.

I wasn't a punk but I was a young rock musician and I bought into all the partying and debauchery I thought went hand in hand with that career.

Eventually getting wasted became more important to me than the music and I lost what career I had.

Fortunately I found a moment of clarity and turned my life around.

I hope your son is smarter than I was and finds his moment of clarity sooner than I did.

You deserve support & understanding too in all of this, and you'll find a lot of hat here. I'm glad you've found us

D
Old 08-21-2019, 08:31 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi tracette and welcome, glad you found SR but sorry for what brings you here, of course.

First things first - you didn't Cause it, can't Control it, can't Cure it (the 3 c's).

Sadly there is no one size fits all solution to addiction and sadly, generally, you have very little input as when someone is in the throes of addiction it is really their fight.