Sister is functioning alcoholic.

Old 01-08-2019, 05:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sister is functioning alcoholic.

Hello I’m new to this and looking for some guidance. My sister is a functioning alcoholic that does not see that she has a problem.She started out on beer went to wine until her adult children told her to stop drinking wine to drinking vodka with water and a splash of lemonade drink mix. She’s been drinking now for years. I can’t be around her when there is alcohol,one drink and she turns into someone I do not like. But doesn’t stop at that one drink. Don’t get me wrong I like to have a drink every once in a blue moon . She now is a grandmother of two her grown children know she’s got a problem but no one seems to do anything to help her. She is very cruel and brings up the past all the time. The last straw was a few nights ago she texted me see if I wanted to go shopping the next day told her I couldn’t. It turned into a nightmare of texts. So I have decided to send out email that I no longer except texts and will only answer or talk on phone. But sent it to all my siblings.so it just wasn’t to her. What do I do.
Old 01-08-2019, 05:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi Eaglebrigiegirl, welcome to SR, sorry for what bring you here, of course. Having an alcoholic sibling must be so painful.

I don't know if you have had a chance to look around the sober recovery site at all but the stickies at the top of this forum have some great threads that you might find really helpful, this spot is a good place to start:

https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums...c-reading.html (Classic Reading)

Please remember that you didn't Cause it, can't Control it and can't Cure it (the 3 c's).

You mention no one seems to be helping your Sister. There is little to be done when an alcoholic wants to drink. If they are not interested in getting sober and getting in to recovery, no amount of pushing or pleading or badgering is going to make a difference, in general.