In Hopes of Clarity

Old 05-24-2018, 11:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

In Hopes of Clarity

Hello, all! This is my first time posting and, needless to say, I am a bit nervous. This post will inherently be extremely long, so bare with me.

I met a man almost exactly a year ago who I thought was going to change my life in all the right ways. He was tall, dark, and handsome, full of energy, the funniest person I had ever met, and he stole my heart. I fell absolutely head over heels for him! As many relationships start off, we drank quite a bit and were living the good life. We shared everything with eachother, well, I thought everything; emotions, past experiences, fears, love. Shortly after feelings began to become undeniable, he bailed on me. He up and left as quickly as he had come. I was left questioning everything. After a while he contacted me again and we picked up right where we left off.

He explained to me that he was getting over a past heartbreak and wasn't ready for the commitment at the time. Late one night, after a few cocktails of course, he confessed his love to me. He told me he saw a future with me. I believed every word. The following day I picked him up from work. He didn't have his license due to a past DUI which I seemed to look past. When we got to my house he told me he needed to tell me something. He slipped his heart out and told me he was an alcoholic. I cried and assured him that we could get through this together. He told me he had been even drinking at work and his co-worker had smelt it on him. He had been struggling for the past 2 years with this addiction and before moving back home had been drinking a bottle of vodka a day. I knew then that this was going to be a long road. I had to move to where I currently am to run from my own alcohol dependencies so I thought he could heal as I had.