Denial and delusional - uuugggghhh!

Old 05-20-2018, 01:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Denial and delusional - uuugggghhh!

So my DD tells me that at her last outing with her Dad that he was going on and on about what he has missed these last two years. He then proceeds to try and share information about our marriage with her to which she told him to "stop it I'm a child not your therapist." Then he pulls out his phone and shows her all the times she hasn't texted him back. Btw she is 18 and at the end of her senior year, she's having to say goodbye to friends she's had for years before she moves across the country for school. Then he says he thinks the lying about drinking was the real problem and that having 2-3 beers after work is fine it was the lying. My daughter was so upset she has seen him passed out on numerous occasions and has even tried to wake him with no luck. Its like since I no longer respond to his bullying shenanigans he is picking it up with her. I don't know if he is finally feeling the consequences of his choices or if he is trying to keep all the denial going? He had accused her before of the two of us sitting around talking bad about him which doesn't happen because I wouldn't do it and if I even tried she would stop it anyway (she's a very smart girl.) I am so frustrated that my DD is having to deal with his paranoid delusions while she is at this very emotional time in her school life. She has lost so much already and she deserves to enjoy celebrating her accomplishments without having to feel guilty about simply behaving like a normal 18 yr old. I am heartbroken for her she deserves so much more. So here is my dilemma we both have a restraining order that says we can't talk poorly or about marital issues to the kids, do I say something or will that escalate the situation? I just want my daughter to get some peace.
Old 05-20-2018, 01:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Life is good

((((hugs))))

From my experience:

Say something.