Where’s the line?

Old 03-22-2018, 06:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where’s the line?

Hello. I’m a newbie and have been reading a lot - so much so that I’m more confused about something. My ABF is theoretically sober for about 3 weeks. We don’t live together and I’m trying to find the right boundaries. Do ask if he’s still sober, went to meetings or therapy etc ? It seems like withholding my concerns is not honest but I don’t want to be a “provoker” or whatever. I can’t just carry on like I assume it’s all good ...
ok that’s it. Thanks
Old 03-22-2018, 07:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

This is a really good question. Most folks around here say to give it a year. I also feel like it really is their side of the street so best if you leave him to it.

When I left my qualifier he swore up and down that he was done and going to get better all by himself. His confidence in his own ability was kinda a deal breaker for me. I didn't say but felt, "Dude this is so much bigger than you and your puny abilities."

What are you doing for yourself? What would make the relationship truly good for you?

More will undoubtedly be revealed both in his sobriety and what you want for yourself.
Old 03-22-2018, 07:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My feeling is that it’s the other person’s recovery, and it’s best if I just stay out of the way of it and work on myself.
As in, think about and refine the plan going forward, whether you are together or not.
Peace.
Old 03-22-2018, 07:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Do you have a boundary about him being sober? Is this something you expressed to him or have you just decided this for yourself?
Old 03-23-2018, 06:15 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by trailmix View Post
Do you have a boundary about him being sober? Is this something you expressed to him or have you just decided this for yourself?