New to alanon, new to sharing my part

Old 02-28-2018, 05:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to alanon, new to sharing my part

To all,
This is my first time reaching out instead of getting stuck in my own head not knowing how to handle my life or myself. Quick back story, i have been married to an addict/alcoholic for 5 years, we met when she first got sober and had 8 months, i immediately fell inlove with her, and drinking was never a huge part of my life so made the life decision to just not drink, we could spend more time together and just be happy, after her 13 month sober she decided she could drink, i was very uneducated to alcoholism, sure i went to meetings with her, listened and took in as much as i could but never understood to the point i do today, over the better half of the 5 years she has been in and out of the halls of AA and each time she has put great distance between us and we always come back to the love we share, until this last time she required medical treatment, now on day 14 all i can focus on is learning how i can deal with, us holding eachother every chance we had 14 days ago to feeling like the friend that just lives at the house and sleeps in the same bed, i understand mentally that she needs to commit 110% to the program to save her life and if she doesnt we will never have a future, but every day when i tell her i go take a shower i cry my eyes out on the bathroom floor, i dont have any close friends, my best friend is in the program as well and i dont want to burden her/him with my feelings, i know that will just push her farther way from me,