Looking for advice

Old 10-28-2017, 07:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Looking for advice

I’m new to all of this. I’m hoping someone can shed me light. I was married to a man who loved to drink but he always went overboard. It disgusted me. I always said he had a drinking problem until I met my prior ex boyfriend. Coming out of a marriage I knew I didn’t want to deal with the drinking aspect again. I went for coffee with this amazing guy. He made me feel like I was the most beautiful woman ever. We had an instant connection! I told him my wants n my prior issues and he told me he wasn’t a drinker. That was music to my ears! However, during our official first date he broke the news that he was a recovering alcoholic. I felt so depressed and sad bc I truly liked this man. He explain it was about 9 years since he was really bad but has had a few here n there. Putting my best judgement aside, I kept dating him. Unfortunately for the first 6-8 months of our relationship, he had several MAJOR relapses. Even though I wanted to leave, I stood by him and tried to help him. I offered anything I could. Finally he saw a dr and got on a pill that makes u ill if you drink. From that point on it was smooth sailing! I always worried in the back of my head if he would slip up. If he was late or didn’t text me back right away, where he was. Kinda of like someone who is cheating. But it started to fade. Our relationship wasn’t all peaches n cream. We had other issues going on from my divorce and his past (bf I met him) from drinking. But in all that he was the most amazing man I ever met! Truly the sweetest guy! I felt like I struck gold! He was everything I wanted. The connection we had on every level was so amazing. He promised he would never go away. Always support me and be there for me. Talked about engagement! Looked at rings! Things started to get really rocky bc of my divorce etc and it was like out of no where he started to pull away. The best way I could describe it, as soon as