Co-dependent AND Alcoholic?

Old 10-24-2004, 03:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Co-dependent AND Alcoholic?

I have just a simple question, but the answer may not be so simple. Can an alcoholic also be co-dependent at the same time?
Old 10-24-2004, 04:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Blondie -

I'm no expert on this subject but I can speak from personal experience. My AH is definitely codependent. From what I know of his past, he was a Codie long before he was an alcoholic. I'd be willing to bet that an awful lot of A's are Codie's.

Hugs, Jo
Old 10-24-2004, 04:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
CindeRella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!

I'm not an expert eithier but my brother is an alocholic and codie as well. My mother is a nurse and has researched this a bit-and like Jo said they can be Codie before they are alcoholics-
((Hugs))
Old 10-24-2004, 06:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Yea its very possible, I am both
Old 10-25-2004, 01:27 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

My A b/f is both.

He is no longer in denial about being an A, however totally denies that he is a codie. As a recovering codie myself, I know that it is up to him to figure it out.

I am working hard at realising the part that I have played in the game and learning how to stop participating. Not easy, but one day at a time is now my motto.

Like jojo, I believe that many (most? all?) addicts are co-dependent. The very nature of co-dependency means putting the attention onto somebody else, rather than yourself. Don't addicts do the same, albeit with a substance, as well as people?

Aren't codies addicts too?

Last edited by minnie; 10-25-2004 at 06:54 AM. Reason: clarity
Old 10-25-2004, 06:43 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Radar

I'm a recovering alocholic and a codie. So is my H although he doesn't admit to being a codie.
Old 10-25-2004, 09:41 AM
  # 7 (permalink)