Question Regarding Tradition 5

Old 10-22-2004, 04:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Regarding Tradition 5

I am somewhat new to the al-anon program but am trying my best. As hard as it is, it is proving to work. My daughter moved out in a fit of rage and came back 10 days later. She said she could make no guarantees but would try and work her program and get into outpatient therapy. 3 days have gone by and she has said she has gone to 3 meetings. She still has not persued any outpatient help. My concern is that she is still hanging around with the same people as when she was using. I have gotten past the guilt trips, ranting and raving, trying to make her feel bad about what's happening to our family but I do want to help in a positive way. Tradition 5 says "by encouraging and understanding our alcoholic relative." Can anyone help me as to what encouraging means? Just making the step into adulthood she is still a child living with a terrible disease. I want to try and talk in a calm positive way. I'm not sure if I can continue to go through the emotional rollercoaster if she stays here and goes back to drinking. Please any input into what encouraging means would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much for listening, this place has helped greatly!!!
Old 10-22-2004, 05:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

Tradition 5: "Each Al-Anon Family Group has but one purpose: to help families of alcoholics. We do this by practicing the Twelve Steps of AA ourselves, by encouraging and understanding our alcoholic relatives, and by welcoming and giving comfort to families of alcoholics."

That is the whole tradition and it is about giving back...at least in the whole. The phrase you picked can be confusing if you take it all by itself.