When is it enough-relationship

Old 07-05-2017, 06:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

When is it enough-relationship

This is my first time teaching out for help away from friends.i think because of my boyfriend I try to keep things quiet and private and in the family. But as my own anxiety and stress is growing I need some outside council to help walk me through dealing with my situation.
My live-in boyfriend of 3 years has a massive drinking problem. His vice is vodka. We have tried multiple ways to help make things better. He went to AA meetings for a couple times but told me the people there were creepy- that he wasn't "that bad" as them. Mind you my boyfriend has been woken up by police laying on the ground With massive bruising on his side when we attend a wedding and no memory of how it happened.
Last night the 4th he drank almost a full 750ml of vodka at our friends house. He was the only person drinking. He proceeded to get incredibly angry hung outside of the car and tried to grab me after we parked the car to scream at me. All for no reason - because he was -upset. Normally he is not this person. But turns mean and terrible when he drinks. I love this man and would do anything to help him but I'm wondering whe is it time to stop trying to help. He's against going to a psychologist- and most programs he turns his nose up at. But has stated that he knows and needs to get some sort of help. Any advice on how which programs to go to. Also had any one else been down this road. Is this situation beyond repair?
Old 07-05-2017, 06:54 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Norrib. Seems to me that your bf knows exactly what steps he needs to take, he's just not willing to take them. Unfortunately, there isn't anything you can do to make him want to take those steps. I'd be thinking about making a hasty exit from him if I were you. Wishing you well.
Old 07-05-2017, 06:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)