SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Journaling (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/408761-journaling.html)

HeartbrokenGuy 04-28-2017 01:51 PM

Journaling

Hi all,

I have heard a few folks mention that they journal.

I've never done this before, but I bought a journal and started writing.

I have a few questions.

What do you write?

Is it to your alcoholic and all the things you wish you could say to them?

Is it just a record of how you are feeling at that moment?

How often do you write? Daily? Every time you feel sad/angry/emotional?

Are there tips for more beneficial journaling?

Thanks for any guidance and if this isn't the correct forum then just let me know.

Thanks

kevlarsjal 04-28-2017 02:08 PM

I can only answer this for myself, being an alcoholic myself. I think journaling is a good idea for everyone though.

I write down my thoughts whenever I feel the need to. Sometimes it's several times a day, several times a week or some weeks without writing anything down. Mostly I write down whenever I feel like I understood something about myself, my thinking patterns, how my past plays a role in that, what I want to change and how I could improve. Sometimes I leave that open though when I haven't found an answer yet.
If I feel really horrible I just write down my thoughts, whatever is bothering me and why. But I try to keep my journal positive or at least insightful so I try to write down why there is no need to be angry, frustrated or worried or whatever I am. It helps me grow and get to know myself I find.