Just remembered a story about AA

Old 04-19-2017, 11:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just remembered a story about AA

So before I met and married my AH, my best friend from high school struggled with alcohol. After college, I worked in a bank as a teller for about a year. Due to my friendly personality, I was always given unhappy customers bc I usually could reach them and try and make them happy. (major people pleaser- obviously haha) So a few times I had to deal with a very angry man. He was very hard to make happy and he usually left in anger.

One night I was supporting my friend and went to AA with her. Well angry customer was there. He kept glancing at me. Next time he came in to the bank- he was totally different towards me. Kept asking how long I was sober, blah blah blah. So people pleasing me did not tell him I wasn't an alcoholic. I didn't want to make him feel bad or go back to the angry person he usually was when he came to the bank.

I realize now that the codependant people pleasing personality I have is why I didn't feel strong enough to make him feel bad or ashamed that I wasn't in recovery like he was. I knew he was new in his sobriety and I hoped by me being nice and understanding it allowed him to feel accepted I guess. I only saw him a few times after that and so I didn't have to keep up the charade for a long period of time. But the fact that I actually faked being in AA so another person wouldn't feel bad about themselves shows that I have had my own issues for a long, long time.