Alcohol and delusions? Yet sometimes behaves normally

Old 04-02-2017, 08:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol and delusions? Yet sometimes behaves normally

A question because I'm new to this whole world of addiction:

How common is it for alcoholics to be completely delusional at some times, but somewhat competent adults at other times?

I'm asking because my alcoholic ex goes on long rants at me over email and text which just make no sense - telling me I'm accountable for the genocide of native Americans or accusing me of plotting to turn him in to Child Protective Services, for instance - but when our daughter is with him, things seem to go okay. She says he sleeps a lot and buys tons of things he doesn't need, but he's not obviously drinking or ranting, and she enjoys seeing him and spending time with him. (He does the same thing with his second ex-wife [yes, there are two ticked-off ex-wives and we talk] - sends her long messages about how he's going to get the police on her for stealing his cable box, for example - it would be funny if it weren't kind of disturbing).

Is it normal (maybe normal isn't the right word - "common"?) for alcoholics to be able to compartmentalize their problems, so that they direct their negative or irrational behavior towards some people, but able to have normal relationships with others? I don't know how much to worry about my daughter being with him - maybe he just takes his crazy out on me and ex-wife #2 but not when he's with her?
Old 04-02-2017, 09:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Those with mental health issues are also very common to be alcoholics and drug abusers. From those types of rants, it sounds like he may be schizophrenic, possibly alcoholic "wet brain" or another mental issue.
I personally would not let my kid around an ex that is still an alcoholic. Is there a custody order from the courts?
Old 04-02-2017, 09:32 PM
  # 3 (permalink)