9 months in my own recovery

Old 08-25-2016, 03:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

9 months in my own recovery

Hi there everyone,

My name is meg and I'm 29 I'm a registered nurse, I have a gorgeous 9 year old daughter and a wonderful life full of friends, family and hope.

However I have been affected by alcoholism in more recent times, despite growing up with it from 6 to 16 yrs old as my stepfather had the disease.

And yes I do believe it is a disease, a mental illness of sorts. Anyway

I met my ex boyfriend 2 and a bit years ago and he was in addiction at the time. But I didn't really know much about it at this time as I was relatively new to the health profession and I had never really dealt with it before on such a personal level, like the kind of level where you are head over heels in love. so I figured this lovely gorgeous man probably just needed a good woman like me to help him find his way. And for a short while it kind of worked. Not for long though our first 6 months was volatile and I broke up with him nor than once. He was freaking crazy and despite my calm and rational attempts to talk to him about the things that stood in the way of a smooth relationship he still manipulated me into believing it was me that was the reason why he was acting the way he did. At the time, early on I saw two people- a really nice guy who seemed to be trying hard to please others and then another person who had no regard for others. It was exhausting to watch. Even more to love him. Which I did and I don't know why and I still sit here trying to figure that one out.

I've been in love three times and this relationship has totally destroyed me.
After our first 6 months he did some really nasty thing to me on New Year's Day 2015 which should have ended it for good- he sent a picture of his friends girlfriend sleeping in his bed ( at the time I didn't know she was with friend) so I thought he had cheated! He did this to hurt me. And he certainly did. What kind of evil does that ??