Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Alcoholics
Reload this Page >

How does one provide hope yet let the addict hit their rock bottom?

Old 07-01-2016, 08:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just read this on Humans of New York on Facebook

We weren’t poor or street. I came from a really good family. I had good examples all around me. My mother worked hard. My grandmother worked hard. I was an honor roll student at a military academy. I even graduated college with a degree in African American Studies. But I had already gotten into crack by the time I graduated, and things went downhill pretty fast. I lost jobs. I lost marriages. I went to rehab so many times. It took me twenty years to quit. But the whole time I battled my addiction, at least I had something positive to look back on. I had knowledge of myself before everything turned negative. And I think that’s why I was finally able to quit. I had a positive place to go back to. For a lot of the addicts I knew, there was nothing but negative behind them."

This is very confusing. The intention with which we stay with our alcoholic loved ones is so we can give them hope. We sacrifice day in and day out so that they have support. But every expert out there calls us co dependent and enablers. They say that an addict has to hit his or her rock bottom for them to recover. How does one provide a positive environment yet not be an enabler? How does one provide hope yet let the addict hit their rock bottom?
Old 07-01-2016, 08:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)