Isn't being a codependent just being a good person?

Old 06-16-2016, 07:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Isn't being a codependent just being a good person?

Let me preface by saying that although I have been in a relationship with my AH for years, I am new to understanding what a codependent is.

So, isn't being a codependent just me being a good and caring spouse? I learned a lot of my behaviors as a wife and mother from my own mother, who is one of the hardest working ladies I know. My whole life she has always worked full time, taken great care of her kids, cooked dinner at the end of a long work day, cleaned up afterward, made sure laundry was done, offered unending advice, and never seemed to skip a beat. She is a very giving lady, and would come to my rescue any time day or night (both of my parents would). As I grow older I realize more and more how their examples in my childhood and young adult life influence my decision making now.

Fast forward to my marriage. I try to emulate who and what my mother was and is. I think anyone would tell you she is a great role model to try to emulate. I have always worked to provide for my family, I try to cook dinner (although I am admittedly not that good ), try my best to keep the house clean and welcoming, care for my husband as a wife "should" and as my vows promised I would, etc. I have loved him well, in my opinion (and in his opinion if you were to ask him).