Am I enabling my boyfriend, or helping him?

Old 06-01-2016, 08:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Am I enabling my boyfriend, or helping him?

Good morning,
I'm very new to this and I had posed this question in a thread in the Newcomers forum, but it was suggested to me that I might be better off asking it here. I would be grateful for any perspectives you can offer, positive, negative, or anywhere on the spectrum! I love my boyfriend and think he'd a gem, but he does binge drink.

Can I ask - was I enabling him...
so the team rookie night did prove to be a bender, as I thought it might. He couldn't stand any more or barely see and had reached a level of speechlessness that we all call "speaking Bob" (his name isn't Bob but you get what I mean...)

enabling? I rolled him into a taxi and told the cabbie to take him to mine. I followed on my bike because I didn't want to leave my bike downtown.

Enabling? I met the cab at mine and had to pay as my boyfriend couldn't see to use the credit card machine although he was really trying.

Enabling? I brought him up, helped him all the way into bed, took off his socks, brought him water.

Enabling? I finally just took an extra sheet and went to sleep on the couch as he had gas

I'm wondering... was that helping? Or enabling... I don't know, I really dont...

Any wisdom would be so much appreciated...
thank you!
Old 06-01-2016, 08:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Hazel the Bunny

In my view yes are you very much enabling him.

For a person with an alcohol problem they need to be allowed to feel and deal with the full impact of it. By preventing this, we aren't helping them, we are delaying them seeking recovery.

The best thing we can do is work on ourselves. Maybe look at a program to help you understand setting boundaries for yourself and taking care of yourself.

The stronger and clearer you are in yourself, the better you will be able to deal with this and decide what is best for you.

Welcome and glad you are here.