Abandoned by Alcoholic

Old 09-30-2015, 03:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Abandoned by Alcoholic

I know this may be a repeat of threads, but I am new to SR. I just ended an off and on 1 year deep love affair with a man who was wonderful until he started to progress in his alcoholism. I had never been exposed to an alcoholic and so I didn't know what I was getting into. The last six months he was in and out of my life more or less, and the last three months especially he really fell apart. He was actively drinking daily to the point that he didn't even go to work and lost both his job and his home. He is an attorney like me although he doesn't practice and worked for a real estate development company. He had become very angry and irrational and I think he was experiencing psychosis. Even fellow acquaintances said the same. He threatened to "destroy" me on one occasion because I wouldn't stay with him and on three others threatened to try and have me fired from my job and disbarred (I follow all rules and am an ethical person -- he just knew that's all he had left to threaten me with).

For most of the past year I was very close to his mom. That is, until a week after saying he wanted to restart our relationship that he has a new girlfriend. He was angry because I wouldn't stay with him and then because I wouldn't drop everything and come help him rebuild his life when he was fired. The new GF works with his mom and get this -- they are both substance abuse counselors. His mom blew her entire retirement (and she's close to retirement) to help him. She's a class A enabler and so afraid he will cut all contact with her if she pushes him. Needless to say at points his mom gave me reason for pause. But as soon as the new GF was mentioned and I stood my ground by telling him to never contact me again, she turned on me. She cut all contact. This is a counselor who told me she had grown to love me as a person and missed me when we didn't talk. Crazy or what?