a total newbie

Old 08-23-2015, 03:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

a total newbie

Hello. This is a new world for me. My son is in rehab. .. drugs and alcohol. Im a mum desperate to learn and be able to help without enabling. I cant find any groups near me that i am able to get to on time as i work.. hope to meet some of you lovely people
Old 08-23-2015, 04:03 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome, sassy! May, I first of all, ask how old your son is?
I am so glad that you have come here. There is so much to learn...and, you will need as much support as y our son does!

dandylion
Old 08-23-2015, 04:16 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome Sassy to SR. You will find this a safe and comforting place 2 belong.
Old 08-23-2015, 08:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

My son is 25

Originally Posted by dandylion View Post
Welcome, sassy! May, I first of all, ask how old your son is?
I am so glad that you have come here. There is so much to learn...and, you will need as much support as y our son does!

dandylion
Old 08-23-2015, 09:55 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi Sassy, why not read the 'stickys' at the top of the F&F forum. They should get you thinking, and then if you want to relate more of your circumstances, you can. Getting feedback from SR has changed some people's lives and made them feel less alone.
Old 08-24-2015, 10:33 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

SassyBees.....I assume that your son will be living at your house when he gets out of rehab?
Yes......it can be fine line between enabling and just being a supportive parent.....and, very confusing . No doubt, there will have to be changes on the parts of your son and the rest of the family.
As was mentioned.....you can begin now to read the "stickies". They are the articles at the top of the page...just above the threads. They have an icon of a "lock" on the left hand side.