partner is an alcoholic?

Old 07-30-2015, 04:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

partner is an alcoholic?

Hello, I'm been googling alcoholism and found my self here. My life partner and I have been together for 12+ years. It seems he enjoys his wine a bit more than usual. He is very educated and I can't imagine him being a alcoholic. But he drinks 3-4 large wine glasses per evening. His sex interest is decreasing. Sorry to be graphic, but hes having "performance issues". I'm not sure if he's found another partner or not. The campus police gave him a ride home to our flat one evening for being violent. Is my partner an alcoholic or just someone going threw a hard time? He recently got divorced and finding out his sexuality. I am a chef by trade and cook him the finest meals yet he can't seem to eat. What do I do?
Old 07-30-2015, 04:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome to the forums. From what you've written, it would be hard for anybody to determine whether your life partner is an alcoholic or not; there is no single cut-and-dry mold of alcoholic behavior, but rather a very broad spectrum of issues. Non alcoholic people can go through binge phases and not be classified as alcoholic, just like alcoholics can go through dry phases for 30 years and still be classified as an alcoholic.

Originally Posted by NaturesBounty View Post
My life partner and I have been together for 12+ years.

Is my partner an alcoholic or just someone going threw a hard time? He recently got divorced and finding out his sexuality.