Reality check

Old 07-17-2015, 10:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Reality check

I am new here. I am new to even considering this might really be happening. I need a reality check. My husband of ten years has always used drink to self medicate. It was alternately manageable and escalating. He suffers from chronic depression and it always gets worse when he is low. It's been getting worse for a while. He doesn't get blackout drunk but he does hide wine and he does drink when I've asked him to back it off. Things started coming to a head for me when he missed our anniversary he was at the bar. We went to his therapist together at his request and he agreed he has a problem. I don't know if he believed it or if he just knew it was what I needed to hear. He "slipped up" once in the first few weeks and I called his therapist who we have been seeing together in addition to him having individual, husband felt betrayed and attacked. I held firm, I had been clear, this time is different, I did something different and he didn't like it. Things were calm for a few days. Then I was going away for a weekend and the night before I left I found wine under the bed, he said it was old, I didn't believe him but didn't press. He picked me up at the airport and he seemed drunk, couldn't find the car in the lot, lost the garage ticket, denied he was drunk but admitted he had "a glass" while I was away. We had couples therapy the next day, just this past Wednesday, I said very clearly I know I can't control you and I am notaking threats but the one thing I do know is that I cannot stay if you keep drinking. It's Friday and he just came home from the bar.
He came in, I could tell immediately, I asked, he denied, I said please be honest, he admitted it, I said ok and walked out of the room. He just left again, presumably to sleep in his car which is what I asked him to do if he drank again.