trying to figure things out

Old 07-15-2015, 01:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

trying to figure things out

I'm new to this. I am recently seperated from my boyfriend of six years. When I met him he wasn't drinking, and had been sober for seven years, but wasn't attending meetings or actively working on his sobriety. I understood that he had a problem, but did not understand much about addiction. I thought that he wasn't drinking so it was ok.

A couple of years into our relationship he began to drink again. I thought that he had gone through various rehab and therapy programs, he understood the risks and that he had it under control. I didn't understand that him starting to drink again was a sign that he was spiralling out of control.

Over the years things have gotten worse. Financial problems, compulsive buying sprees, addiction to online gaming, general depression. Then strange stories with girls, online flirting, bizarre obsessions that led to lying, hiding phone numbers, spending time with them at any price, then finally in September of last year he cheated on me. He tried to explain the link between this behaivior and problems with addiction, but i didn't understand and was devastated. I was blaming myself, and fell into a very dark period. Through all this I had become obsessive, and felt like I was going nuts.

I tried to make it work, but life was stressful with him and everyday with him became a struggle of anxiety and mistrust. In March I finally moved out. Since then we started seeing each other again, things seemed to be better. We were getting along, fighting less, he was loving and caring and I was feeling better about myself and my day to day. We weren't together but we weren't apart, but our boundaries were never clear enough.