Completely, Totally, and Utterly FED UP !!

Old 08-26-2004, 08:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Completely, Totally, and Utterly FED UP !!

I'm not exactly a newbie here. I posted several months ago while my husband and I were going through counseling and I jinxed myself by mentioning the improvement in our relationship. That very same night, he had a major episode that ended up involving his whole family. Since then I've only read messages but have not had the courage to actually post one myself. Until tonight. I can't say that things are better or worse. In fact, I think I am so upset because they are exactly the same. I am holding my breath until the next time he has an episode and I am desperately hoping that I have my head together by then. Right now I feel completely desperate. Its the constant doubt.."Am I crazy? Am I making mountains out of molehills?" I swear that I can tell whether or not my husband has been drinking at first glance... a mile away...with my eyes closed!! Even if he has only had a couple, his personality is totally different. Yesterday was the first time I have been able to interact with him before he has had alcohol in his system and it was wonderful. So wonderful that I can't get back into the routine of living with an alcoholic because the memory of what he used to be, before the alcohol, is so fresh in my mind. I admit that I am an extremely emotional person and he uses that to cover up that this is his problem. I am so exhausted. In the past couple of months I have kept busy with my children and work and 4 out-of-town trips that it has been easy for me to keep things in check. But today, the emotional flood gate opened and I can't get it shut! My husband is undeniably an alcoholic. He too buys beer as soon as he gets off from work. A 20 oz. for the ride home and a 12 pack for the night. He often argues with me about how much he drinks but it doesn't really matter, 2 or 12, its all the same to him. Its like he transforms as he drinks...1 or 2