I can feel myself weakenint

Old 03-20-2015, 06:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I can feel myself weakenint

Weakening not weakenint...

My AH is in inpatient treatment right now and I told him about the big D last night. I was so set to be strong and move forward. Then today I got a letter from him that he had written several days before we talked last night. It was loving and sincere and sounded like the H I used to know before the war and depression and PTSD. He wrote that he really wants to be sober the rest of his life. And he said he was sorry he did not get PTSD treatment years ago because then he would not have put us in this situation.

Do I stay rigid and keep going with the divorce or should I try to give this one more chance? He was a totally different person before Iraq and I felt like it was that whole person writing that letter.
Old 03-20-2015, 07:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

This is not an easy one at all. I am a vet and have a son who is an Army ranger. I have always believed that my fathers drinking was due in part to WWII and the things he saw. Back then they just called it shell shocked. So I have all sympathy for my fellows.

I'm glad he's getting help, but this is early. He's feeling positive (possibly on the pink cloud, Google it). It's waaaaaaaay too early to tell if if this is going to be his start to permanent sobriety. Even if he stops drinking, PTSD is a whole other can of worms. If you really want to be strong for him, then you must be strong for yourself. You need time to heal and focus on something besides him and his recovery. He also needs time to heal without worrying about you. Time apart may not mean forever. But it does mean if you decide to stay you will do it from a place of strength and clarity rather than guilt, pity or desperation.
Old 03-20-2015, 07:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)