Seeking comfort and support

Old 03-01-2015, 01:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Seeking comfort and support

Hi all,

I'm a twenty-something dating a thirty-something who is an alcoholic. I've been with him for over a year now and I have struggled with his addiction. As a nurse, I have a "few tricks up my sleeve" to try and make him seek help, yet he is very resistant. A common form of his resistance includes believing that he can control his alcohol when he in fact cannot. He is powerless over alcohol and I have spent countless tears, arguments, and drunken episodes trying to understand.
One of the worst feelings in a relationship is feeling that it is not a two way street. My profession requires helping others but I am forced to constantly give my all (in a one way street) with my patients as a ethical and responsible duty. With that being said, my social relationship with my boyfriend is not a two way street due to him being an alcoholic. He is 35 years old, never been married, with no children and has so much potential. He is a teacher and it seems to not be affecting his work. But it certainly affects his family and myself. He drinks to excess and his behavior is unacceptable. He flips the switch and suddenly wants to punch my car windows out. His sips turn to gulps, chugs, shots, multiple glasses, and before you know it, he is vegetable life. He loses his personal belongings. He's had two DUI's and puts other's lives in danger. He says hurtful things. I cannot understand him when he speaks. But the most powerful thing of all, is that he makes me feel alone. He isn't "with me." Hence the word "vegetable-like." He's half-alive.
This never ending cycle physically and mentally exhausts me. I do not want to run because he is a WONDERFUL person when he is sober. But I am feeling depleted lately and his actions pull every nerve, heart cell, and energy source out of me.
Old 03-01-2015, 01:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Reddog!