Sponsor Question

Old 02-23-2015, 08:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sponsor Question

I've been working with my sponsor for a few months now, I'm in limbo between step 2 and step 3. I get step 3 and am ready to actually begin handing stuff over (I already do sometimes and handing stuff over gives me anxiety! Me have little faith! ) Anyway, this weekend I picked up a Steps workbook (Reaching for Personal Freedom, I'm not sure if the same books are distributed nationally) and I'm thinking about starting to work the steps with this workbook but my sponsor hasn't suggested that I do that so I'm not sure if I'm stepping on her Sponsorial Toes. Actually, outside of meeting with her in person once every other week, she hasn't suggested that I do anything (besides meditating and praying) to help me work the steps. She hasn't suggested that I journal or use a work book or really read anything besides Steps To Recovery. Meanwhile my al-anon friends that are on similar paths seem to get suggestions from their sponsors, one of them picked up a different steps workbook when I picked mine up and mentioned that her sponsor suggested it. Another has been journaling at the suggestion of her sponsor. Why isn't mine suggesting these things to me?

Anyway, my question is, is anyone else's sponsor very hands off? She has a super controlling personality (like me) and references how things "should" work very frequently but she catches herself all the dang time when she says that I should or need to do something and then just changes the words that she's using but imparting the same message. I almost feel like she's overcorrecting. I told her once in a very gentle "I" statement kind of way that there was a whole lot of "rightness" going on sometimes and she did not seem to take very kindly to my opinion.