Sponsorship

Old 12-11-2014, 05:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sponsorship

I was going to post this in the F&F 12 Step Forum but there is much more activity here I thought I would get more responses. If the thread should be moved please let me know...Thanks!

I have been attending Al-Anon for a little over three months - 1 to 2 times a week. I find that when I can't get to a meeting at least once a week that I struggle quite a bit with myself. This happened over the Thanksgiving holiday - between the holiday itself and the kids schedules I just couldn't get there - plus drinking activity seems to ramp up over the weekends and holidays.

I go to meetings during the day when the kids are at school. Lately I try not to leave them alone with AH in the evening for very long or very often - usually doing so has me walk into a bit of chaos - house a disaster, everyone grouchy, someone crying because "daddy is a jerk", etc, etc.

I was thinking that having a sponsor would be helpful to me overall but especially in those times that I can't get to a meeting.

A few questions:

Do I need to be attending longer to ask for sponsorship?

How long should my sponsor have been in program before becoming a sponsor?

Is it something you ask for or does someone volunteer?

If it is up to me to ask do I ask generally (like tell our GR or share that I am looking for a sponsor) or do I just pick someone specific?

If I need to pick someone specific is it best to pick someone that I not only 'click' with but that also has had circumstances similar to mine? ie - someone who has lived/is living through active alcoholism with their AH as their qualifier and with younger children.

My 'home' meeting is tomorrow and I am going to try to pay attention to the regulars to see if I think one of them might be a good sponsor for me.

Thanks in advance for sharing any experiences you've had or any advice.
Old 12-11-2014, 06:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)