Fighting the Fear

Old 12-09-2014, 12:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Fighting the Fear

This is my first time posting but I have been reading for months in the shadows. I have been married for 18years to a man I have known since I was 17. We dated and broke up multiple times over the years for a variety of issues mostly my fear of intimacy but never because of alcohol. I always thought that the drinking in college was just what everyone in college did. We then got married had a child within that first year of marriage and moved 12 hours from our families. Thats when the lying started. It only happened a few times in the beginning, how much he had, where he had had it etc. Then after a weekend trip with the boys he came home late as we had another commitment 2 hours away and drove myself and our two children to the next state at 90 mph. I finally figured out he was still drunk from the night before. We have danced the I can stop whenever I want ,which he can but it only lasts for 30 days, for so many years. When he's good he's great and when he's not I am devastated. My husband is incredibly successful at work no one would expect a drinking problem but when he starts he can't stop. For years I have thought why am I driving him to drink but with the help of 2 years of therapy I know those are my own demons and the alcohol is his. The climax of the year was last Nov he was in a car accident with our 16yr old son. I came to find them and the police officer told me it was obvious my husband had been drinking but didn't write him a ticket or do a test. I feel so lonely most of the time. I have become a single parent even though I am living in the same house. I cannot trust him to be there to be sober, to be responsible. I used to resent him but I don't anymore I am starting to question where I went so long ago or if I ever had any strength. I am the product of a physically abusive home, who left home at 18 and never looked back. It took me so long to understand that I