Daughter Drama

Old 12-03-2014, 06:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Location: My mind wanders a lot, but I try to stay in the present.
Daughter Drama

I don't even know where to begin... I studied theatre in university. I love a good story. Character development. Pathos. Dramatic arch. I have a healthy respect for Shakespearean tragedy.

But for God's sake I don't want to live my life as a character in one of his f*cking plays!!!!!

My daughter has been going through a rough patch lately. She's been distant, and moody, and more or less a horrible person to be around, but at 17 it's easy to write those things off to 17ishness. Still, I knew something was up. This was looking a lot more like depression than moodiness so I poked and prodded and poked and prodded and eventually she broke down and layed her soul bare to me. She's has been making some very stupid choices, and as we all know stupid choices have a way of biting us in the butt. Now she's suffering as a result of those choices, and I can't make it better. I can't unring that bell for her, and even if I could I know I shouldn't. She's got to suffer her own consequences.

But what really knocked the wind out of me wasn't what she did. (It was Shakespeareanly stupid but not life altering.) It was what she said.

She said she's afraid she's just like her dad. She's afraid she's just like her dad!

F*ck. F*******************************ck.

I swear I heard my heart break. I'm not kidding you. It cracked! An audible noise emanated from my chest. I was just getting that d*mn heart pieced back together again! Oh man. I can feel it in there. Like it's too big for the chest cavity, and a bit too tired to keep up the charade. Instead of thump thump thump it's emitting a kind of wheeze wheeze wheeze. Seriously folks. I think there's a crack in my heart! A God D@mn Crack in My F*cking Heart!!!!

***** sigh*****

It's like foreshadowing in a play. I knew the day would come when she'd feel that way.