I dont even know what an acceptable emotion is anymore

Old 11-25-2014, 05:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I dont even know what an acceptable emotion is anymore

I am so confused. I have been trying really hard to make the "right" choices regarding how I approach situations. My T told me next time someone says something nice about me to just try to take it in (the same way I automatically do with negative stuff) and try to accept it. I have been doing this at work. I've been getting a lot of positive feedback at my new job and finally FINALLY at least in one aspect of my life I'm starting to think, "hey I got this. I'm a damn good nurse" but regarding the REST of my life......My family, RAH I am so confused.

I don't know how I am supposed to feel. I can't be anything but angry at RAH right now, but in many circles, I am being resentful. If I feel sad about where things have turned out, or hurt by how people turned out something different than I thought, I am having a "pity party". Is any feeling ok to feel? I just feel like a failure all over again because I don't know how I am supposed to react or feel and if it's right or wrong.
Old 11-25-2014, 05:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

You FEEL however you feel--there isn't any "right" or "wrong" way to feel.

Resentments are when you feel over and OVER again, replaying the exact same scenario and keeping those fires of anger fueled. Everyone gets those, but it's to our benefit to try to let go of them for our own well-being. Being angry all the time is very hard on a person.

A "pity party" is closely related to resentment (and, IMO, is might be a version of the same thing) but instead of feeling the anger over and over again, you dwell on how unfair life is and how nothing ever goes right for you, yadayada, without doing anything to change it.