soon to be bad withdrawls

Old 10-27-2014, 07:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

soon to be bad withdrawls

My hubby is having surgery in a couple of days. As of tomorrow night he cant have any alcohol for at least the next week. I can tell he is anxious but won't admit it. He is drinking more than normal. Also his appetite is not there. I have never in my 10 years of knowing him he has never gone a day without 5 beers. I know the first few days he will be on pain killers, and I cant let him drink for healing purposes. I'm scared to see how bad his withdrawls are going to be. I know with me quitting (32 days) I had mild withdrawls but I could deal with good meals and tons of water. It is massive oral surgery so pumping water through will be difficult. Any ideas? thanks in advance
Old 10-27-2014, 07:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm not a doctor and I don't offer medical advice, but because I was married to an A who lied through his teeth to every doctor ever about his alcohol intake, I have to ask:

Has your AH been honest about the doctors about how much he drinks? Are they aware that he's detoxing rapidly on his own before the surgery?

If not, I would tell them.
Old 10-27-2014, 07:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I've tried to tell him that its going to be hell for him. He thinks it is no big whoop. He thinks its no big thing. I'll have to let the surgeon know
Old 10-28-2014, 12:00 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You should get medical advice. In the grand scheme of things my AH didn't drink 'as much' alcohol as other A's...but in detox this time around he had seizures.

I wouldn't be advising non medically supervised detox.

And I second the suggestion that he may not have been honest with the docs.
Old 10-28-2014, 03:40 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Rachinator View Post
I know the first few days he will be on pain killers, and I cant let him drink for healing purposes.
Let's just hope he feels the same way because if he want's to drink he is going to.