SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Grammar issues (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/348976-grammar-issues.html)

changeneeded 10-27-2014 12:04 PM

Originally Posted by biminiblue (Post 4979039)
Oh, I wanted to add...there are a couple SR members who used to PM me if my sentence structure was off.

They don't anymore.

I put them on "ignore."

A fear of mine ! Probably why I think twice about posting. I can't believe people would pm you over that. Yikes!

lillamy 10-27-2014 12:06 PM

I'm a former English teacher and think the prescriptive English is mostly good only for pedants and picky people (sorry!).
Oh, I totally own that my grammar police tendencies are a sickness. But they're so far down the list of priorities of "Things I Need To Fix About Me" that I'm sort of letting them slide.

AND I should also add that in a forum like this, the only time spelling/grammar errors irritate me is when they make it hard to understand.

biminiblue 10-27-2014 12:07 PM

Originally Posted by changeneeded (Post 4979239)
A fear of mine ! Probably why I think twice about posting. I can't believe people would pm you over that. Yikes!

There was one person who PMed me three times - only to quote and correct my grammar.

I asked her to put me on ignore so I wouldn't threaten her sobriety.

...I put her on ignore too.:wink3: Once someone is on ignore, I don't see their PMs if they send one :)

lillamy 10-27-2014 12:08 PM

Let it be known that I would never, never, ever PM someone to correct their grammar. Or hair style. Or recovery choices.

Holy snap, that's codie crazy gone nuts! :lmao

Thumper 10-27-2014 12:13 PM

Originally Posted by lillamy (Post 4979253)