Brother with Colon/Liver cancer still drinks heavily

Old 10-01-2014, 01:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Brother with Colon/Liver cancer still drinks heavily

He was diagnosed in February 2013 with an estimated five months to live. It has been eight. He has a horrible pain pill addiction, alcohol addiction, and marijuana addiction. He is only 47 years old. He has no desire to get sober now. Watching him self destruct is horrible for me and my mother.

You would think the alcohol and pain pills combined would take him down fast, but he keeps on trucking. Hate to say this, but I will be relieved when he is finally at rest and not in danger of hurting others.

Does anyone have experience with someone abusing alcohol with cancer?
Old 10-01-2014, 03:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Have you sought any professional advice on how to deal with this yourself?

I ask because part of my job brings me into contact with cancer healthcare professionals.
I've had some personal experience too.

Often in the case of lung cancer patients who have a smoking related cancer, there is a tendency for relatives to pressurise the patient into stopping smoking once they are diagnosed. I only use lung cancer as an example.

However, it can be too late by then and the damage has been done. The damage will have happened slowly over many years of smoking and giving up cigarettes at that stage with advanced cancer is probably not going to help or stop the progression/ or cure the disease.
In fact it will probably just be another added pressure to deal with along with the terminal diagnosis and all the struggles that brings.

I should imagine he is very angry about his diagnosis when he is so young?
Does he receive any spiritual or psychological treatment - from the hospital/hospice who are involved in his care maybe?

I understand it must be very hard for you and his mother to witness and accept.