about to take on a lot and don't know how to do it.

Old 09-09-2014, 10:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

about to take on a lot and don't know how to do it.

Hey all, I am new to the friends and family forums, very familiar with SR for my own sobriety.
I am here now because my sister has finally hit the brick wall she needed to get her to see what this poison is and has done to her life.
It has ended her 6 year relationship and has cost her the love of her life. She now has been left with nothing much but her car, not even friends.
I straight away offered her my spare room but am ery anxious and unsure of how to handle this.
I struggle with tough love with my sister and she can very easily manipulate me and although I recognize it, I don't honestly know if I can change that. I have always been the protector. I am just really anxious.
I will do anything in my power to help her and I think that may get in my way of truly helping her.
Thank you for reading. I look forward to some words of wisdom.
Old 09-09-2014, 10:30 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Bunnies!

Welcome, kristabell. Be sure that your recovery is always your first priority. You can't help anyone else if you're teetering on the edge of madness again. You already say you're unsure because she's manipulative. I'd keep chewing on that and figuring out if your sobriety is worth potentially throwing away in an attempt to help maintain hers.
Old 09-09-2014, 11:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi krista, bless you for your kind heart. Have you placed any conditions on her living with you, such as not drinking at home? Is she going to pay board? Best to work this out in advance rather than make it up as you go along. My own sister has a drinking problem and I would hesitate to have her living with me.
Does this affect anyone else or are you living alone?
Old 09-10-2014, 05:48 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter